Team International defeats Team USA to win 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup


Team International defeated Team USA to claim the 2022 Palmer Cup at Golf Club de Geneve in Switzerland on Sunday.

The International squad notched 13 singles wins during the final day en route to a 33 to 27 victory. The United States now leads the Palmer Cup series 13-12-1.

The Arnold Palmer Cup is a Ryder Cup-style event played annually that features teams of 24 players, consisting of 12 of the top men’s and 12 of the top women’s college golfers.

Julia Lopez Ramirez, the 2022 SEC Freshman of the Year after a stellar campaign at Mississippi State, earned the first singles win, defeating Brooke Seay 4 and 3.

“I’m so happy for this and the team,” she said.

Mateo Fernández de Oliveira of the International team (University of Arkansas ) and Amari Avery of Team USA (USC) each won every match they played this week.

Winners of exemptions into the Arnold Palmer Invitational and the Amundi Evian Championship were Ludvig Aberg (Texas Tech), Aline Krauter (Stanford) and Benedetta Moresco (Alabama), as voted on by their peers at the event.

Source link