Pakistan Cricket Board to announce replacement draft today

PSL 2022: Pakistan Cricket Board to announce replacement draft today – Ahead of the seventh edition of the the Pakistan Super League (PSL), the supplementary and replacement draft will take place today through a virtual session, a statement from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said. Follow InsideSport.IN for more updates

PSL 2022: Pakistan Cricket Board to announce replacement draft today

The mini-draft was originally scheduled to take place yesterday but it was postponed by a day in order to make final contact with the players.

Fourteen cricketers, who will not be available for the first few matches due to their other international commitments, will be partially replaced by their franchises.

Quetta Gladiators will replace Naveen Ul Haq (Silver category) for the entire event after the fast bowler opted out of the event, while Tom Abell is unlikely to be available for the duration of the tournament, due to an injury.

Separately, in the supplementary draft, each franchise will be allowed to pick two players with a maximum of one foreign player either from the Diamond or Gold or Silver or Emerging Categories.

The players who will be partially replaced are — Chris Jordan (Karachi Kings, Platinum), Faisal Akram (Karachi Kings, Emerging), James Vince (Quetta Gladiators, Platinum), Jason Roy (Quetta Gladiators, Platinum), Liam Livingstone (Peshawar Zalmi, Platinum), Noor Ahmed (Quetta Gladiators, Supplementary), Odean Smith (Multan Sultans, Diamond), Phil Salt (Lahore Qalandars, Gold), Qasim Akram (Karachi Kings, Emerging), Reece Topley (Islamabad United, Silver), Rovman Powell (Multan Sultans, Silver), Saqib Mahmood (Peshawar Zalmi, Gold [Brand Ambassador]), Shepherd Romario (Karachi Kings, Supplementary), and Zeeshan Zamir (Islamabad United, Emerging).

See also  Ian Watmore leaves role as ECB chair after only 10 months at the helm | Cricket

Some of the star foreign players available in Saturday’s draft include Ben Dunk, Fawad Ahmed, Chris Green, Tymal Mills, David Willey, Dan Lawrence, Jamie Overton, Haseeb Hameed, Sandeep Lamichhane, Hamish Bennett, Dane Vilas, Cameron Delport, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Lendl Simmons, Johnson Charles, and Dominic Drakes.

Meanwhile, local stars include Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Awais Zia, Bilal Asif, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Butt, Junaid Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Irfan Sr, Mukhtar Ahmed, Musa Khan, Rahat Ali, Raza Hasan, Sahibzada Farhan, Saud Shakeel, Sohail Khan, Tabish Khan, Umar Amin, Usman Khan Shinwari, Usman Salahuddin, Waqas Maqsood, Yasir Shah and Zahid Mahmood.

The tournament will be held from January 27 to February 27. Karachi will host 15 matches from January 27 to February 7, while Lahore will hold matches from 10-27 February, including the four play-offs.

PSL 2022: Pakistan Cricket Board to announce replacement draft today

Source link