India win by 62 runs, takes 1-0 lead

IND beat SL, 1st T20 Highlights: Team India has defeated Sri Lanka by 62 runs in the opening fixture. Charith Asalanka slammed a fifty but couldn’t prevent a loss against a mighty Indian bowling attack. Bhuvneshwar Kumar & Venkatesh Iyer took a couple of wickets as the hosts were clinical in their bowling after the excellent show with the bat. Follow IND vs SL LIVE updates on InsideSport.IN

IND beat SL, 1st T20 Highlights: Charith Asalanka FIFTY in vain, Ishan Kishan shines as India win opener by 62 runs, takes 1-0 series lead

Chasing 200, Sri Lanka got off to the worst possible start as the side two wickets inside three overs. Bhuvneshwar removed both openers Pathum Nissanka and Kamil Mishara as Sri Lanka struggled in the chase.

Sri Lanka reach the 50-run mark in the tenth over but lost two more wickets. Charith Asalanka did hit a fifty for the visitors but the asking rate was too much to ask for as Sri Lanka lost momentum. The visitors needed 102 runs in the last four overs and the visitors were completely outplayed in the first T20I as they lost the match by a considerable margin.

With this 62-run win over Sri Lanka, India took a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. Both teams will now lock horns in the second T20I on Saturday.

Earlier, Ishan Kishan breathed fire in the Indian inns. He made full use of the opportunities to slam 89 runs off just 56 balls. Rohit Sharma also created a world record with most T20I runs. Shreyas Iyer did the rest of the job with 28-ball 57 to ensure India set 200 runs target for the visitors in the opening contest.

See also  Australia wins Ashes 3-0, England humiliated

IND beat SL, 1st T20 Highlights: Charith Asalanka FIFTY in vain, Ishan Kishan shines as India win opener by 62 runs, takes 1-0 series lead

T20I Leading Scorer: Rohit Sharma creates another RECORD, surpasses Virat Kohli, Guptill to become leading run-scorer in T20Is – Check out

It was a solid start from India as Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan scored 58 in the powerplay. The duo continued firing before Lahiru Kumara removed Rohit in the 12th over as India reached 111/1. Meanwhile, Ishan continued slogging and took India’s score over the 150-run mark, however, Shanaka dismissed him in the 17th over. In the end, Shreyas and Ravindra Jadeja stitched an unbeaten 44-run stand to help India post a mammoth total of 199/2.

IND beat SL, 1st T20: Charith Asalanka FIFTY in vain, Ishan Kishanshines as India win opener by 62 runs, takes 1-0 series lead


  • SIX! Flat six by Karunaratne, off the bats against Venkatesh Iyer
  • FOUR! Great placement from Asalanka, pure timing but tough ask- TARGET. 15 runs of the over off Deepak Hooda
  • SIX! Some entertainment for the fans. Karunaratne goes big
  • FOUR! Reverse sweep from Asalanka
  • DIRECT HIT! Rohit Sharma agile but so is Karunaratne, no damage done.
  • WICKET & RECORD! Yuzvendra Chahal becomes leading wicket-taker for India in T20Is
  • WICKET! R Jadeja strikes on return, Chandimal STUMPED OUT
  • SIX! Dinesh Chandimal goes big, R Jadeja can just watch it sail into the stands
  • WICKET! Janith Liyanage departs as Venkatesh Iyer strikes, Samson completes the catch
See also  World Cup hero Alyssa Healy hails 'special game of cricket' after Australia defeat England in final


  • DROPPED! Shreyas Iyer drops, Yuzvendra Chahal’s record has to wait
  • FOUR! Uppercut from Charith Asalanka vs Bumrah
  • WICKET! Bhuvneshwar Kumar Strikes again! Rohit completes the catch
  • DROPPED! Venkatesh Iyer drops a simple catch in the night sky
  • FOUR! Kamil Mishara hits another boundary, this time against Jasprit Bumrah
  • FOUR! Bhuvneshwar to Kamil Mishara, first boundary of SL innings
  • WICKET! Bhuvneshwar Kumar strikes the first ball as in-form Pathum Nissanka departs for DUCK

IND vs SL Live: Unlucky Ruturaj Gaikwad misses out on BIG OPPORTUNITY, opens the door for Sanju Samson – Follow Live Updates

IND beat SL, 1st T20 Highlights: Charith Asalanka FIFTY in vain, Ishan Kishan shines as India win opener by 62 runs, takes 1-0 series lead


  • SIX! Ishan Kishan on the roll, makes it tough for Gaikwad in upcoming fixtures if the latter returns
  • Crazy stuff from Dasun Shanaka, 4 bowlers used in the first 5 overs
  • FOUR! Ishan Kishan in a purple patch, takes charge & plays a straight drive
  • FOUR! This time Kishan flicks it over mid-wicket
  • SIX! Ishan Kishan again launches himself, making full use of his opportunity at the top towards backward square leg
  • HAT-TRICK of FOURS feat. Ishan Kishan, Immense pounding to Karunaratne.
  • FOUR! And again, Ishan leaned on to the short delivery
  • FOUR! Ishan Kishan finally finds the gap towards the cover region, Chamika Karunaratne
  • FOUR! Rohit Sharma brings the first boundary towards deep mid-wicket against Lahiru Kumara
  • Rohit Sharma & Ishan Kishan start India inns. Dushmantha Chameera starts proceedings with the ball.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

IN- Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal and Deepak Hooda

  • Deepak Hooda is making his T20I debut while Sanju Samson has been drafted in Playing XI with SuryaKumar Yadav left out.
  • Unfortunately, Ruturaj was supposed to play, but he has a wrist injury and will not play today.
  • The likes of Jasprit Bumrah & R Jadeja also make their comebacks
See also  Amazing 4 Apps Streaming LSG vs CSK LIVE

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Janith Liyanage, Dasun Shanaka(c), Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara

How To watch IND vs SL Live Streaming in India?
Fans can watch IND vs SL Live on Star Sports, Hotstar.
Star Sports 1/1HD/1 Hindi/1HD Hindi/Disney+Hotstar

Sri Lanka – Sony Sports Network, SonyLIV app will present live streaming.

Bangladesh – Sony Sports Network, SonyLIV app will present live streaming.

UK – Sky Sports

USA and Canada – Willow TV

South Africa – SuperSport.

IND vs SL Live Score: Rohit Sharma and Dasun Shanaka ready for toss - Follow 1st T20 Live Updates

IND vs SL Squads

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Avesh Khan.

India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Priyank Panchal, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubhman Gill, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, R. Ashwin (subject to fitness clearance), Kuldeep Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain).

SL Squad India Series: T20I Squad

Dasun Shanaka – Captain, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka – Vice-Captain, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana,Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel

India vs Sri Lanka 2022 Schedule

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2022
Sr. No. Day Date Match Venue
1 Thursday 24th February 1st T20I Lucknow
2 Saturday 26th February 2nd T20I Dharamsala
3 Sunday 27th February 3rd T20I Dharamsala
4 Friday 4th-8th March 1st Test Mohali
5 Saturday 12th -16th March 2nd Test (D/N) Bengaluru


IND beat SL, 1st T20 Highlights: Charith Asalanka FIFTY in vain, Ishan Kishan shines as India win opener by 62 runs, takes 1-0 series lead

– Advertisement –

Source link