How to watch 2022 Masters Tournament: TV channel, live stream

How to watch 2022 Masters Tournament at Augusta National originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

The 2022 Masters will soon be upon us, giving reigning champion Hideki Matsuyama his first opportunity to defend his title.

The 29-year-old became the first male Japanese golfer to win the Masters, or any major tournament, for that matter, in 2021. He was just the second Asian golfer to conquer a major — following South Korean Y.E. Yang, who won the PGA Championship in 2009.

Matsuyama, after facing challenges on and off the tee in the final round, converted a 54-hole lead into his first green-jacket win. He posted a score of one-over 73 during the final round and finished 10-under 278 for the tournament, with Will Zalatoris a shot behind him at nine-under.

Here’s everything you need to know before the first major championship of 2022 gets underway.

How to watch 2022 Masters

What: 2022 Masters Tournament

Where: Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, GA

When: April 7-10, 2022

TV Channel: ESPN for Days 1-2, CBS for Days 3-4

Live Stream: The 2022 Masters can be streamed in the U.S. for free on the tournament’s official website.

Alternate Live Streams: Golf fans can also stream the tournament using ESPN+ and Paramount+ with paid subscriptions.

Schedule for 2022 Masters

Round 1: Thursday, April 7 from 1-5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN

Round 2: Friday, April 8 from 1-5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN

Round 3: Saturday, April 9 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET on CBS

See also  Kevin Na resigns from PGA Tour to avoid sanctions for joining Greg Norman's Saudi-funded circuit

Round 4: Sunday, April 10 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. ET on CBS

What does the Masters Champion win?

What makes the Masters Tournament even more special are the fantastic perks the champion will get after achieving the goal of a lifetime: winning at Augusta National.

The 2022 Masters Champion will receive a custom-fit green jacket that Hideki Matsuyama, the 2021 Masters Champion, will drape on his shoulders after the final round.

Along with the green jacket, worn only by the past champions and members of the Augusta National, the winner will get a gold coin, a replica winner’s trophy and a purse of $11.5 million.

But that’s not all.

The Masters Champion will also have the chance to choose the menu for the annual Champions dinner, which takes place on the Tuesday of the Masters week.

And since winning the Masters is a lifetime goal, the Champion will get a lifetime exemption into the tournament — meaning they will be invited to play the Masters indefinitely. The winner will also get a five-year exemption for the PGA Tour and additional five-year exemptions to play the U.S. Open, PGA Championship and The Open Championship — the other three golf majors.

In addition to these already amazing perks, the winner receives an honorable membership at Augusta National. Yes, you read it right: the winner will be able to play on one of the most beautiful courses in the world whenever they want. Pretty amazing, right?

See also  Tiger Woods returns at JP McManus Pro-Am

Who is the favorite to win the 2022 Masters?

Odds provided by our partner, PointsBet sportsbook, as of March 15:

Jon Rahm (85/1 odds)

Dustin Johnson (120/1)

Jordan Spieth (120/1)

Collin Morikawa (120/1)

Justin Thomas (140/1)

Rory McIlroy (140/1)

Cameron Smith (140/1)

Bryson Dechambeau (180/1)

Xander Schauffele (180/1)

Brooks Koepka (108/1)

Patrick Cantlay (180/1)

Viktor Hovland (200/1)

Hideki Matsuyama (280/1)

Scottie Scheffler (280/1)

Tony Finau (300/1)

Editor’s note: PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Who are the past Masters champions?

2021: Hideki Matsuyama

2020: Dustin Johnson

2019: Tiger Woods

2018: Patrick Reed

2017: Sergio Garcia

2016: Danny Willett

2015: Jordan Spieth

2014: Bubba Watson

2013: Adam Scott

2012: Bubba Watson

2011: Charl Schwartzel

2010: Phil Mickelson

2009: Angel Cabrera

2008: Trevor Immelman

2007: Zach Johnson

2006: Phil Mickelson

2005: Tiger Woods

2004: Phil Mickelson

2003: Mike Weir

2002: Tiger Woods

2001: Tiger Woods

2000: Vijay Singh

1999: Jose Maria Olazabal

1998: Mark O’Meara

1997: Tiger Woods

1996: Nick Faldo

1995: Ben Crenshaw

1994: Jose Maria Olazabal

1993: Bernhard Langer

1992: Fred Couples

1991: Ian Woosnam

1990: Nick Faldo

1989: Nick Faldo

1988: Sandy Lyle

1987: Larry Mize

1986: Jack Nicklaus

1985: Bernhard Langer

1984: Ben Crenshaw

1983: Seve Ballesteros

1982: Craig Stadler

1981: Tom Watson

1980: Seve Ballesteros

1979: Fuzzy Zoeller

1978: Gary Player

1977: Tom Watson

1976: Raymond Floyd

See also  Fowler tries to get back on track at start of new PGA Tour season in Napa

1975: Jack Nicklaus

1974: Gary Player

1973: Tommy Aaron

1972: Jack Nicklaus

1971: Charles Coody

1970: Billy Casper

1969: George Archer

1968: Bob Goalby

1967: Gay Brewer Jr.

1966: Jack Nicklaus

1965: Jack Nicklaus

1964: Arnold Palmer

1963: Jack Nicklaus

1962: Arnold Palmer

1961: Gary Player

1960: Arnold Palmer

1959: Art Wall Jr.

1958: Arnold Palmer

1957: Doug Ford

1956: Jack Burke Jr.

1955: Cary Middlecoff

1954: Sam Snead

1953: Ben Hogan

1952: Sam Snead

1951: Ben Hogan

1950: Jimmy Demaret

1949: Sam Snead

1948: Claude Harmon

1947: Jimmy Demaret

1946: Herman Keiser

1945: No tournament held (WWII)

1944: No tournament held (WWII)

1943: No tournament held (WWII)

1942: Byron Nelson

1941: Craig Wood

1940: Jimmy Demaret

1939: Ralph Guldahl

1938: Henry Picard

1937: Byron Nelson

1936: Horton Smith

1935: Gene Sarazen

1934: Horton Smith

Source link